27 Nakshatras

Nakshatra or the Birth Star is an important division of Indian Vedic astrology. The concept of Birth Star / Nakshatra is exclusive only to Vedic astrology and is known to give much more accurate results. Nakshatras are the strength of astrology and were taken into account even before Sign system was considered. Nakshatras are reviewed during the astrological analysis.

Vedic astrology has a distinct system of prediction that is based on the position of the moon in a given Nakshatras. The Ancient Sages divided the zodiac (apart from twelve signs) into 27 Birth star or Nakshatras of 13.20 degrees each. At Nakshatra is also called as a lunar mansion or a constellation. Its orientation is found in the ancient Vedic scriptures. Even though there are 28 Nakshatras, the 28th Birth star, Abhijit is not usually considered in Vedic Birth star calculations. Each one of them covers 13 degrees and 20 minutes of the zodiac. A prediction based on the Birth star is more accurate than the results predicted by the zodiac signs.

Therefore, while traversing across the zodiac, the Moon has to pass through one of the Vedic Birth stars. Your moon sign is determined by the star that prevails on the day of your birth. When you were born, the Nakshatras in which the Moon was situated at that time is called your Birth star or janama Nakshatra. Mystics explain that when a child is born, they should be given a fortunate first name which will correspond to the child’s Nakshatras (constellation). It is claimed that the benefit of this naming is that when the child hears this sound, it generates the feeling of completeness within the child. Accurate predictions can be made after determining your Nakshatras. All 27 Nakshatras/birth star is related to 9 planets and respected deities, colours, gemstones, etc. Indian Vedic astrologers have advised that the birth of every child is governed by a particular Nakshatras, which should be used in determining the first letter of the name of the child. These Nakshatras are further subdivided into four quarters known as Pada, each spanning 3.20 degrees, known as Navamsa. The placement of planets in these padas or subdivisions is studied for finer predictions. Each zodiac sign covers nine Padas in total However; it is believed in astrology that these characteristics get modified based on the other planetary conditions in one chart. You can know your janma Nakshatra or Birth Star and its characteristic associated with them.

If child name is set as per Nakshatra /Vedic Birth star, it would always give positive vibration so that your child would do well, be self-reliant and would be endowed to fight negativity. Your Birth Star /Janma Nakshatra determines your thinking tapping, nature as well as essential destiny. It also identifies the characters as well as the unconscious aspects of the personality. Thus we can see that Nakshatras are used for various purposes and one of its primary uses is to determine the starting point of a Dasha or planetary period or cycles that divide the time into the main periods and sub-periods and to choosing a marriage partner or an auspicious time for any significant activity.

If you know the birth star, you can use the following table to arrive at the first letters of your baby’s name as recommended by Vedic astrologers. Knowing your final Janma Nakshatra is very important as per Vedic astrology because several astrology belongings are based on your Nakshatra or Birth Star.


According to Birth Star /Nakshatra, First Letter of Baby’s Name in English and Hindi have given here,

1-Aswini -Chu, Che, Cho, La = अश्विनी -चू,चे, चो, ला

2-Bharani -Lee, Lu, Le, Lo = भरणी-ली, लू, ले, लो-

3-Kritika -A, E, U, Ea = कृतिका-आ, ई, उ, ऐ,

4-Rohini -O, Va, Vi, Vu = रोहिणी-ओ, वा, वी, वू,

5-Mrigashira -We, Wo, Ka, Ki = मृगशिरा-वे, वो, का, की,

6-Aardhra -Ku, Gha, Ing, Jha = आर्द्र-कू, घ, ङ, झ,

7-Punarvasu -Ke, Ko, Ha, Hi = पुनर्वसु-के, को, हा, ही,

8-Pushyami -Hu, He, Ho, Da = पुष्य -हू, हे, हो, डा,

9-Ashlesha –De, Du, De, Do = अश्लेशा -डी, डू,  डे,  डो,

10-Magha  -Ma, Me, Mu, Me = मघा -मा, मी, मू, मे

11-Poorva Phalguni -Mo, Ta, Ti, Tu = पूर्व फाल्गुनी-मो, टा, टी, टू,

12-Uttaraphalguni -Te, To, Pa, Pe = उत्तरा फाल्गुनी-टे, टो, पा, पी,

13-Hasta -Pu, Sha, Na, Teha = हस्त -पू, ष, ण, ठ

14-Chitra -Pe, Po, Ra, Re = चित्रा -पे, पो, रा, री,

15-Swaati -Ru, Re, Ro, Taa = स्वाति -रू, रे, रो, ता,

16-Vishaakha -Tee, Tue, Teaa, Too = विशाखा -ती, तू, ते, तो,

17-Anuraadha -Na, Ne, Nu, Ne= अनुराधा -ना, नी, नू, ने,

18-Jyeshtha -No, Ya, Yi, Uu = ज्येष्ठ -नो, या, यी, यू,

19-Moola -Ye, Yo, BA, Be = मूल -ये, यो, भा, भी,

20-Poorvashaada -Bu, DHA , Ea,  Eaa = पूर्वाषाढ़ा -भू, धा, फा, ढा,

21-Uttarashaada -Be, Bo, Ja, Ji = उत्तराषाढ़ा -भे, भो, जा, जी,

22-Shravan -Ju, Je, Jo, Sha = श्रवण -खी, खू, खे, खो,

23-Dhanishta -Ga, Gi, Gu, Ge = धनिष्ठा -गा, गी, गू, गे,

24-Shatabhisha -Go, Sa, Si, Su = शतभिषा -गो, सा, सी, सू,

25-Poorvabhadra -Se, So, Da, Di = पूर्वभाद्र -से, सो, दा, दी,

26-Uttarabhadra -Du, Tha, Jha, Jna = उत्तरभाद्र -दू, थ, झ, ञ,

27-Revati -De, Do, Cha, Chi = रेवती -दे, दो, चा, ची,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *